Category Archives: Scholarships

Public Relations Foundation of Houston Scholarhsip

The Public Relations Foundation of Houston annually awards a $3,000 scholarship to an undergraduate or graduate student studying PR/communications and is either from the Houston area or is attending Sam Houston State University, Texas A&M or the University of Houston.

Application is currently available at


2010 PRFT Joe Riordan Registration Scholarhsip

The Public Relations Foundation, the Texas Public Relations Association’s 501 (c) 3 arm, is accepting applications from communication students for the 2010 PRFT | Joe Riordan Registration Scholarship. The scholarship pays $125 for the registration fee (includes lunch and a ticket to the gala) for the 2010 TPRA Leadership Day & Gala scheduled to take place on March 5, 2010 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Austin, TX. Students must be enrolled in a Texas school of higher education and taking communication courses. As a recipient of the Joe Riordan scholarship, students will also be asked to volunteer their time during the Leadership Day & Gala to assist the TPRA conference committee. Ten scholarships will be given to the first 10 students to submit an application. Deadline to apply is February 16, 2010
The scholarship application can be found online at


For more information about TPRA, the 2010 Texas PR Leadership Day & Gala and PRFT, please visit

2010 State Representative Irma Rangel Memorial Scholarship

HSC and the Hispanic Bar Association of Austin Charitable Foundation are proud to announce the 2010 State Representative Irma Rangel Memorial Scholarship.  The award benefits rising college juniors and seniors seeking a career in law with a renewable $2,000 scholarship.  The application deadline is February 15 and award specifics are outlined below.  The attached PDF outlines all of HSC’s 2010 scholarship opportunities.

Scholarship Opportunity: The LAGRANT Foundation (TLF)

The LAGRANT Foundation is now accepting applications for $125,000 in scholarships for the 2010/2011 academic year. A total of 20 scholarships will be awarded to ethnic minority undergraduate and graduate students majoring in advertising, marketing or public relations. Undergraduate scholarships are worth $5,000 each and graduate scholarships are worth $10,000 each.

The deadline to submit an application is Friday, February 26, 2010.

Click to view the Press Release, Flier, Undergraduate  and Graduate applications. Applications may also be obtained through TLF’s website at

If you have any questions please contact TLF Programs Manager Ericka Avila. She may be reached at or 323.469.8680, ext. 223.

The Institute on Political Journalism: Accepting Applications for Summer 2010

Sponsored by The Fund for American Studies in partnership with Georgetown University , the Institute combines substantive internships, courses for academic credit, career development activities, site briefings and lectures led by working journalists. This fast-paced, eight-week residential program provides students from around the world with opportunities to gain the edge in today’s competitive job market and graduate school admissions, and experience the excitement of Washington first-hand.

  • Internships – Competitive placements with top PR and communications firms
  • Classes – Up to 9 transferable credits from Georgetown University
  • Housing – Roommate matching and furnished on-campus apartments in the heart of D.C.
  • Guest Lectures – With Washington ’s top print and broadcast journalists
  • Site Briefings – At the State Department, Capitol Hill and World Bank
  • Leadership & Professional Development – Leadership, mentoring and career building activities
  • Networking – Interaction with professionals and other student journalists from around of the world
  • Scholarships – Over half of all students receive full or partial funding based on merit and financial need

For more information and an online application, please visit

Request a Brochure

John D. Graham Scholarship Opportunity

In September 2009, will you be a public relations junior or senior? If so, we invite you to participate in the $5,000 John D. Graham Scholarship competition, an award presented by the PRSA Foundation, Inc. and sponsored by Fleishman-Hillard International Communications.

Application requirements are described below. There is no limit to the number of applicants from a PRSSA Chapter in good standing, and applicants do not have to be affiliated with PRSSA.

Winners will be announced and the scholarship presented at the Annual Awards Ceremony during the PRSSA 2009 National Conference in San Diego.

Entries will be judged by a committee of public relations professionals who will select the scholarship recipient, and award two Honorable Mention certificates.

The PRSA Foundation currently awards 12 scholarships annually via six scholarship funds. The John D. Graham Scholarship is being given for the first time this year.

Please click here for detailed information from PRSSA website

“Frame My Future”: Scholarship Contest Information

Hello everyone,

For those of you who will be full-time students during the 2010-2011 school year, please see below information for a great scholarship opportunity.

When the entry period begins (September 30, 2009 10 a.m. EST) there will be a link to our online entry form. You must complete the entry form and upload an original creation that shares with us what you want to achieve in your personal and professional life after college. The main guideline is that your creation must be submitted within one image, in a JPEG format.

The 2010 scholarship contest is open to students attending college full time for the 2010-2011 academic year. Entrants must also be a legal US resident. Please read the OFFICIAL RULES.

$6,000 in Scholarships! We will be awarding $1,000 scholarships to five “success-driven” students! One of these five students (Grand Prize Winner) will also receive a matching $1,000 donation for their 2010-2011 attended college or university! This donation goes to the school’s general scholarship endowment fund, on behalf of the Grand Prize Winner. All 24 Finalists (5 Scholarship Winners and remaining 19 Finalists) will also receive a commemorative “Frame My Future” frame for their entry.

Entries can be submitted online from September 30, 2009 until March 15, 2010 (10 a.m. EST). Church Hill Classics will select 24 entries to be named Finalists, and post them online on April 5, 2010. The public then votes for their favorite entry during a one month voting period: April 5 – May 5. The five entries with the most votes will each earn a $1,000 scholarship. The top vote-getter also earns the $1,000 donation for their school!

For more information: visit the official website